Numb by R.N

Numb

 

We walk through the hallways like robots droning to the hum of the crowd.

Someone bumps into me, I don’t even notice.

This happens so often I’m used to it.

Numb to it.

Someone shouts my name.

I don’t even notice, it’s just one classroom to the next.

What could they want from me in this five minute timespan anyways?

I subconsciously ignore them calling my name.

I absolve myself from social requirements for these short five minutes.

Numb to it.

I hear my phone ring deep in my bag.

But what could they want from me right now?

I’ll just wait until I’m in class to check my phone, that’s what they all do anyways.

We’realways on our “devices” in class.

Looking for an escape perhaps?

Maybe we all want to get through the school day.

Maybe we’re already numb to it.

Leave a Reply

