One By D.R.

One.

A very big number depending on who you are

One marks a start, but Zero an end

One and Zero are not too far apart

but when added up, you get One…

If you’re bad at math you get Ten

One next to Zero can mean many things

Zero by itself, nothing

One that shares Zero is something

Ten…

Ten means a friend

There is no difference between the numbers themselves

But One and Ten is the difference between alive and dead

Where I could depend on a friend whose life felt less than One

But my actions to help, Less than Zero

By the end of the day it did not make me the hero

as I found them gone

The light in my head flickered on

But what was done, was done

Now I’m the One

that stands alone…

Leave a Reply

