The Average Girl, M.D.

Setting:

Long View High School hallway

 

Plot:

New love, first interaction

 

Characters:

Mia (Normal/Average Girl)

Brody (Lax Bro)

Laura (Friend)

 

FADE IN

 

A two story building, gray with maroon trim, rows of tall, rectangular windows on each floor (showing signs of age from the chipping white paint on the trims). Oak and maple saplings dot the campus, as well as some of the older tree providing shade for the students. The trees show the first signs of fall from the tint of orange and red on the leaves.

A large amount of students stand on the front lawn (about 60-70 people), greeting each other with brilliant smiles and hugs after the long summer break. Circles of friends, in fours and fives, stand in clumps chatting. The feeling in the air was one of joy.

It’s a clear sunny day with blue sky, the sun is shining with little cotton ball clouds here and there. The air is a comfortable 70 degrees, with a hint of a fall breeze fluttering.

The sound of engines hum softly as cars drive by, while music can be faintly heard for cars that have their speakers turned up all the way (leaving vibrating echoes in the air from the base). As students casually walk around the lawn, conversations overlap with the occasional laugh standing out from buzz of the crowd.

Two female students, Mia and Laura, walk and talk as they head to their lockers.  In the other direction walks a male student, Brody,

 

 

  • mia (Average girl): jeans, hoodie, ponytail, no makeup, black hipster glasses, a book bag strapped over one shoulder binders for classes in her hands,
  • Brody: tall, strikingly handsome, looks a bit older than he actually is (5 o’clock shadow), tan khaki shorts light blue button up shirt with the sleeves rolled up. A back pack is casually hung over one shoulder.

 

 

ACT I

SCENE I

 

BRODY WALKING ON COURTYARD OF HIGH SCHOOL

MIA AND LAURA CHATTING AT LOCKER OUTSIDE

WALKING AWAY MIA TRIPS, DROPPING HER BINDERS AND BOOKS

HURRIEDLY LEANING DOWN TO PICK UP HER STUFF ANOTHER PERSON ALSO LEANS DOWN SIMULTANEOUSLY

MIA AND THE STRANGER END UP HEADBUTTING EACH OTHER

MIA/BRODY: I’m so- (same time) sorr- (same time) (giggle)

MIA: You first.

BRODY: Oh (pause) I was just going to say sorry. (eye contact made) My name is Brody.

MIA: Oh yeah I know, everyone knows who you are (blushing) I’m Mia.

SOFT LOVE SONG PLAYING IN BACKGROUND, SILENCE BETWEEN THE TWO OF THEM, RECORD SCRATCH NOISE, SNAPPING OUT OF THE LONG GAZE

BOY #1 (boombox on shoulder): Whoops sorry did I ruin a moment.  (awkward tone)

MIA: I better get going to class.

BRODY: Um maybe we can go get lunch sometime.

MIA: Wait, really? You don’t even know me?

BRODY: Yeah but, I’d like to get to know you.

MIA: (long pause)

LAURA ELBOWS MIA WITH A SMIRK UNNOTICEABLE TO BRODY

MIA: Uh… UH yeah sure (pause).

BRODY PULLING OUT A PIECE OF PAPER AND PEN

BRODY: Here write down your number and I’ll text you about it later.

MIA TAKES PAPER CAUTIOUSLY AND QUICKLY SCRIBBLES DOWN 10 NUMBER, HANDS IT BACK STILL STARSTRUCK

BRODY: Solid, I’ll hit you up later.

BRODY SLOWLY SAUNTERS AWAY

LAURA AND MIA TURN TO EACH OTHER, WONDERING IF IT WAS REAL, GIRL SHRIEK

LAURA: Did you really just get asked out by the most popular guy in this school?!

MIA: I think so, pinch me to make sure

LAURA PINCHES MIA, MIA FLINCHES

MIA: Yep I felt that, I’m pretty sure that was real.

CONTINUE DOWN THE HALLWAY

 

ACT I

SCENE II

VICTORIA, KATIE, LAURA, MIA WALKING OUT OF SCHOOL

SIT AT TABLE IN COURTYARD, VICTORIA AND KATIE EXCHANGE GLANCES

KATIE: So we heard some pretty exciting news today. Give us the deets.

VICTORIA: SPILLLLLLLLL!

MIA: It’s nothing, it’s been a normal day

LAURA: Except she was totally hit on by like the hottest and most popular guy in school!

MIA PLAYFULLY SLAPS LAURA ON THE ARM

MIA: Laura. Stop.

LAURA: If you don’t tell I will.

MIA: Ugh fine, if I must. (blushing) It was so amazing. Instant love, sparks were flying.

ALL GIRLS SMILING EXPECT VICTORIA, KATIE LEAN OVER TO VICTORIA GRABS HER ARM ALL GIDDY, SEE VICTORIA’S SLIGHTLY IRRITATED EXPRESSION

KATIE: (whispers to Victoria) Hey is everything alright?

VICTORIA: (loud enough for all the girls to hear) I just heard he cheats on the girls he’s with.

MIA: Wait what?

ANNOYED LAURA GLARES AT VICTORIA, MIA WORRIED EXPRESSION

LAURA: I haven’t heard that, you must be thinking of a different lax guy

VICTORIA: No, it’s for sure Brody, I heard he’s a total tool.

PHONE DING

MIA: OMG I think it’s Brody. What do I say? (nervously tapping phone with thumbs)

VICTORIA: I wouldn’t even reply, he’s not worth it.

LAURA: Ignore her, you’ve liked him for so long. Act cool, calm and collected. Just say new phone who dis?

MIA: That doesn’t make me sound dumb?

KATIE: No, it’s just a thing people say, don’t over think this.

MIA: Ok, I’m going for it.

 

ACT I
SCENE III

SITTING AT A TABLE IN CHICK-FIL-A

BOOTH IN THE BACK CORNER

BRODY: How are your chicken nuggets?

MIA: You can never go wrong with chicken nuggets. What kind of sandwich did you get?

BRODY: The spicy chicken sandwich. It’s sooooooooo good! (awkward silence)

JASON: YO FAMMMMM WHAT’S GOOD?

BRODY: (slight eye roll) How’s it hanging bro?

JASON: Just getting some food for Emily, maybe if I get her food she’ll blow me. Wait, didn’t you get with her?

BRODY: Um yeah, but that was a long time ago.

JASON: But like was she good?

BRODY: I really couldn’t tell ya, sorry man. (Mia subtle, fake cough, Jason surprised)

JASON: Oh man, I didn’t notice you were with someone.

BRODY: Yeah this is Mia.

MIA: Nice to meet you.

JASON: Alright cool, if the food gets cold Emily won’t be so willing. See you at practice Brody.

BRODY: I’m so sorry, Jason is an asshole.

MIA: It’s whatever, I kind of expect that from every single high school boy at this point.

BRODY: Even me?

MIA: Noo, you’re one of the good ones.

BRODY: Well thank you. You’re not too shabby yourself.

 

Writer’s Memo

We are not successful screenwriters (obviously) and so this draft proved a tad difficult. Our idea started with a bank robbery then leaned towards a murder mystery and finally we agreed upon a cheesy high school love story. SO ORIGINAL. We combined our knowledge of various love stories such as Vampire Diaries, The Longest Ride, and Ten Things I Hate About You, etc… etc… and BAM this masterpiece was created. Probably not what a 43 year old man wants to read, but we’re giddy 18 year old girls so what did you expect. Peace out girl scout.

Margot: I wrote 97% of the dialogue, based off of unrealistic love expectations and personal experience with assholey guys. Thank you and have a GREAT time reading it.

Chantal: I worked on the setting and beginning fade in.

Kamaile: I did most of the description of what was going on as well as helping Margot with the CAYOOT dialogue. I also wrote the amazing beginning to this writer’s memo so… yeah.

 

Leave a Reply

