I am Mountain Song, C.K.

My name is Chantal, a unique name that stems from my French heritage, which means mountain song. This is, I feel, a great explanation of who I am, but there is more to me then just my name.

 

I am Mountain Song.

 

I am from the high mountains where snow falls year round.

I am from the high desert, where weather changes frequently.

I am from Winter’s nights, staring up at the stars listening to Dark Side of the Moon.

I am from cool summer days of laying in the grass and making shapes in the clouds.

I am from a family that is always there for each other no matter what.

I am from a community where everything seems familiar.

I am from biking, where I allow myself to become one with the outdoors.

I am from rowing, where teamwork is of the utmost importance.

I am from skiing, where the exhilaration in like no other.

I am from a good book, where reality and fiction merge together and become one.

I am from a hilarious film, that leaves me laughing for hours on end.

I am from singing at the top of my lungs in the shower, and annoying the hell out of my brother.

I am from weary eyes after staring at a computing screen late into the night.

I am from the dreams that fill my heart and mind with mixed emotions that correspond with the rollercoaster that is my life.

 

I am Mountain Song.

 

If I were to disappear tomorrow I would want to be remembered for these traits I mentioned in my poem, but above all I want to be remembered as the person who was accepting and could get along with diverse groups of people. The majority of the population at my school is white, and I find that because of that students shy away from conversing with students of different ethnicities than their own. For me, however, I find it natural to converse with anyone. It doesn’t matter if they are white, black, asian, disabled, I will join in conversation. I am not sure why this is, but it might have something to do with the fact that I have been put in many classes where the diversity is greater than usual, and therefore I choose not to judge people based on their appearance. There are many occasions where.I was able to connect with people, even strangers, no matter what they looked like. The most important part though, is how I was raised. One of the most significant values in my family is to be accepting of others

I am from accept and open mindedness

To me, seeing the good in all people is extremely important. This doesn’t just mean being open minded to making new friends, but also forgiving  them when they wrong me. For example, when I was young I was excluded from a talent show group just because one girl didn’t want me to be a part of it. She was the only one that didn’t want me in the group. Ironically, later on she was kicked out of the group. In seeing the situation, I felt that I should be the bigger person and allow her to join my new group. Even though I was still angry with her, I allowed myself to forgive her. However, there is also a negative aspect to unconditional forgiveness. Although, we can’t all be goody two shoes all the time and forget our flaws. For me, personally, I would want be remembered for both my flaws as well as my strengths. Yes, it is always good to be forgiving, but it is all too easy to let someone into your life and then allow them to hurt you over and over again. It is hard to come to that realization and allow yourself to admit poor judgment. It is important to forgive other people, but it is just as important to forgive yourself.

 

I am from forgiveness

 

Having described the  way I interact with other people, I also want to reflect on the way I need balance in my life. I often find myself to be a very bubbly person, but I also require time to myself in order to reboot. Balance for me, is the ability to flexibly transition between introverted and extroverted activities. For every time that I go on a bike ride with my team, I need the same amount of time to lay in bed and watch a movie. For every time that I spend a night in relaxing, I take the next morning to go out and make plans. For every time I spend a day at the mall with with my friends, I need another day to stay home and read a good book. It is a nice pattern, that without, I wouldn’t be able to function. This may seem like it is just a way in which I structure my time, but it is so much more than that. It allows me to seek a deeper value in life and to find a sense of equanimity.

 

I am from introverted extroverts

 

At funerals, they only talk about the wonderful things people did when they were alive. I want to be remembered  as how I really was – in my fullness. I want to be remembered as the person who didn’t judge by appearance, but rather a person’s true self. I want to be remembered as the person who was forgiving, but also requires forgiveness back. I want to be remembered as social, friendly, caring and connected; but also shy, a homebody, and someone who needs time for herself.

I want to be remembered as the person who is from paradox and contrast.

 

Writer’s Memo

This narrative piece is meaningful to me. More than just an essay, this piece conveys my true self, and the parts of me that I want to leave behind in the world if I were to disappear. However, this is also what made it a challenging piece to write, for it is difficult for me to talk about myself. I really don’t enjoy it, but I found it quite cleansing and enlightening to write a narrative like this. It was fun, new and exciting.

Leave a Reply

